European Economic Area, EEA


European Economic Area, EEA

free trade area for the EU countries plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein all being members in EFTA. The free trade does not include agricultural products and fish.

Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein have adopted around 4000 EU laws, mainly relating to the Internal Market. Formally, they have a special veto right as regards these, but it has never been used.

The EEA Treaty obliges Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein to pay a contribution to the EU structural funds.A Council that meets bi-annually and a Joint Committee of high-ranking civil servants that meet at least monthly govern the EEA.

The EEA countries have also become members of the Schengen cooperation establishing common external border control