ALDE Group

The official logo of the alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (Photo: Europarl)

ALDE Group

The liberal group in the European Parliament

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe, ALDE. The third biggest group in the European Parliament from 2009-14, and from 2014 the fourth biggest. Formerly the Group of the European Liberal Democrat and Reform Party, ELDR.

ALDE is chaired by the former Belgian Prime Minister Guy Verhofstadt who succeeded Graham Watson, a UK Liberal Democrat, who succeeded Pat Cox,  an independent Irish MEP who became the President of the European Parliament in alliance with EPP



ALDE website