Lomé agreement or Lomé Convention

The Lomé agreement is still the popular name for the agreement between the EU and the ACP countries - currently numbering 79, mostly former colonies, in Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific.

The agreement was renamed the Cotonou Agreement in June 2000, in the capital of Bénin. This agreement lasts for 20 years.