Cotonou Agreement

Exporting Cocoa from Ghana as part of the Conou Agreement (Photo: European Commission)

Cotonou Agreement

Relations between the European Union and the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) states have now been fixed in the Cotonou Agreement, signed in 2000 in the Capital of Benin. Following the former Lomé V Convention, the Cotonou Agreement was renegotiated for 20 years. The main innovation of Cotonou is the expansion of the EU co-operation into the political sphere.


- The agreement covers 79 ACP countries.

- Financial resources for 2008 to 2013 are more than 24 billion Euro.


See also Aid and Development and European Development Fund. 

Decision No 1/2006 of the ACP-EC Council of Ministers of 2 June 2006 specifying the multi-annual financial framework for the period 2008-2013 and modifying the revised ACP-EC Partnership Agreement [Official Journal L 247, 9.9.2006].