European Coal and Steel Community, ECSC

Jean Monnet (Photo: European Commission)

One of the original three European communities, the others being the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community.

Originally proposed by French Foreign Minister Robert Schuman on 9th May 1950 - since then known as Europe day. Established by the Treaty of Paris 1951 and existing since July 1952. It ended in July 2002.

The idea of a supra-national community sharing coal and steel resources originated with the French cognac dealer and diplomat, Jean Monnet. Its High Authority for the administration of the coal and steel resources of France, Germany, Italy and the Benelux countries prefigured the supra-national EU Commission. Its Parliamentary Assembly prefigured the European Parliament.