European Economic Community (EEC)

The Treaty of Rome established the European Economic Community (Photo: EU Commission)

Established with the Treaty of Rome in 1957 to create the so-called "common market" from January 1958. This was the first pillar of the European Union until the Lisbon Treaty abolished the pillars.

Until 1972, the abbreviation EEC was used. Then it became EC, or European Community, and EU under the 1993 Treaty of Maastricht.


See also European Communities.