Juncker, Jean-Claude (1954 - )

Juncker, Jean-Claude ( 1954 - )

President for the European Commission from 1 November 2014 where he took over from José Manuel Barroso. Elected in the European Parliament with 422 of 751 votes 15 July 2014.

Candidate to be President for the European Commission in the European elections in May 2014. Elected by the EEP Congress in Dublin in a vote against Michel Barnier. Proposed by the European Council wioth 26 votes against Britain and Hungary 27 June 2014 to be approved by an absolute majority in the European Parliament.

Juncker lost the elections in Luxembourg after almost 19 years as a very successful prime minister from January 1995 to December 2013.

He was appointed “Mr. Euro” in 2005 as the permanent leader of the Eurozone finance and economy ministers from the beginning of the function in 2005 to 2013. He had to deal with the financial crises from 2008 and was succeeded by Dutch minister of finance Jeroen Dijsselbloem.