Independence/Democracy Group

(Photo: Independence / Democracy Group)

Independence/Democracy Group

The Independence and Democracy Group (Ind/Dem) was set up in 2004, succeeding its forerunner, the EDD Group. Many members of the group founded the new group "Europe for Freedom and Democracy, EFD, in 2009.  

The group incorporated EU-critics, Eurosceptic and euro realists and was generally against centralisation of EU power. They were also promoting more democracy and transparency in the EU. The 'Independence' faction included withdrawlists, such as UKIP. 

The Ind/Dem Group was chaired by MEPs Hanne Dahl (Denmark) and Nigel Farage (UK). Hanne Dahl succeeded Jens-Peter Bonde when he left the European Parliament in May 2008.