Treaties of Rome

Treaty of Rome, signed in Rome (Photo: EU Commission)

Treaties of Rome

Were signed in the Compadoglio in Rome on 25 March 1957 to set up the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community from 1 January 1958.

The 50th anniversary of the Treaties of Rome was celebrated at a formal summit in Berlin on the 27th of March 2007.

At the summit a "Berlin Declaration" concerning the future of the Union was adopted. It is a parallel to the Messina Declaration that was the preliminaries to the creation of the EU.

The Berlin Declaration opened for the transformation of the rejected draft EU Constitution into the Lisbon Treaty which was finally entered into force 1 December 2009.