Balkan countries

Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, FYROM (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), Serbia, Montenegro, Kosova and Romania are considered Balkan countries. (Photo:

Balkan countries

Generally, the following countries are considered as Balkan countries:

- Albania

- Bosnia-Herzegovina

- Bulgaria

- Croatia

- FYROM (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)

- Serbia-Montenegro

- Romania

Geographically, they can be divided into the Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia and FYROM (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) and Serbia-Montenegro) and the South East Balkan countries (Romania and Bulgaria). 

The EU has launched stabilisation and association processes (SAP) with the Western Balkan countries in view of their possible EU membership. Bulgaria and Romania became members in 2007 and Croatia in 2013. 

FYROM/Macedonia applied for membership in 2004 and received candidate staus in 2005. In 2009 the Commissin recommended to open for negotiations on membership

Montenegro applied for membership in 2008 as a new state. Membership negotiations started 29 June 2012.

Serbia applied for membership in 2009. the fist formal negotiations on membership started  on 21 January 2014.

Kosovo is has been accepted as a potential candidate for EU membership

Albania applied for membership in 2009 and became a candidate country 27 June 2014

Bosnia-Herzegovina -  on 27 June 2012 the EU and Bosnia-Herzegovina launched High Level negotiations.