Nuclear power

(Photo: These Tides)

Nuclear power

The Euratom Treaty was signed at the same time as the Treaty of Rome, in 1957, and gives the EU the drafting policy for around 145 nuclear power stations in the EU Member States. This number was increased by 23 after the accession of the applicant countries in 2004.


The Lisbon Treaty has introduced Energy as a shared competence.

EU law will therefore suppress member states' existing legislation and right to legislate in this area. 

No member state can be forced to have nuclear power stations at their own territory but they are bound to accept nuclear energy as a part of cross border trade with energy.

See also Energy policy