Independent expert group

André Middelhoek (Photo:

Independent expert group

Following the rejection of the 1995 EU accounts (the discharge), an independent expert group was set up in 1999 to evaluate the EU Commission.

he experts stated that they did not find one single person showing the slightest responsibility. When the first report was published on 15th March 1999, the Commission, led by Jacques Santer, resigned.

The independent experts were André Middelhoek (chair), Inga-Britt Ahlenius, Juan Antonio Carillo Salcedo, Pierre Lelong and Walter van Greven.



See also Marta Andreasen, Paul van Buitenen and Censure.