Brussels Treaty

WEU meeting in Marseile (Photo: French Presidency Web-site)

Brussels Treaty

Created the common defence alliance between the UK, France and the Benelux countries. It was signed in 1948 and called the Western European Union, WEU. 

It is now practically absorbed by the EU.

One key element remains: Art. 5, which guarantees automatic mutual defence by each signatory against possible attacks on any of the others.

The Lisbon Treaty calls for a common defence in the EU and opens the way for a special “structured cooperation” in military and defence matters for countries interested in making this commitment  



See also Defence.