Overseas Countries and Territories, OCTs

Overseas Countries and Territories, OCTs

Most former colonies of France, the UK, Belgium and The Netherlands enjoy free access for their non-agricultural exports into the EU and receive some financial assistance.

Every EU country now has the same right as the former colonial empire countries to establish firms in the OCT countries and sell their products. The OCT's are associated to the EU through a special chapter in the Treaties.

See Article 198 TFEU in the Lisbon Treaty, which did ot change the OCT rules substantially.



In 1985, Greenland changed its relation with the EU from being a member of the EU (as part of Denmark) to an OCT.