The flag flying in front of a church (Photo: Notat)

The Netherlands have a population of 16.49 million and an area of 41,500 km2.

The Netherlands was among the six original EEC member states. 

62 % of the Dutch voters said no to the proposed EU Constitution in a referendum 1 June 2005. Since then a majority in the Dutch parliament  have decided to ratify the Lisbon Treaty without a new referendum.


Dutch Government 
Other official websites