Hague Summit

Statue in The Hague (Photo: European Commission)

At the Hague Summit on 1-2 December 1969, the EU decided to negotiate enlargement to include the United Kingdom, Ireland, Denmark and Norway.

This historic meeting also initiated the future reports on EU foreign policy, by establishing the Davignon committee, and on Economic and Monetary Union, by establishing the Werner Committee.


See also Davignon report and Werner report.