From Stockholm to Crete and from Lisbon to Warsaw, 29 agencies provide service, information and know-how to the people of the European Union and beyond. The agencies work within many different fields such as environment, food safety, transportation, trade marks, education, or fundamental rights. (Photo:

Agencies and other EU bodies

The EU may establish special agencies and bodies to deal with specific topics. They are not a part of the EU but work as separate institutions with their own legal personality. There are over 40 agencies, divided into four groups

-          decentralised agencies

-          executive agencies

-          EURATOM agencies

-          European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT)

For an overall introduction to agencies, see:


The following agencies are now run by the EU:

- CdT - Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union – Luxembourg:

- CEDEFOP - European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training – Thessaloniki (Greece):

- CFCA – The European Fisheries Control Agency – Vigo (Spain):

- CPVO - Community Plant Variety Office – Angers (France):

- EASA - European Aviation Safety Agency – Köln (Germany):

- ECHA - European Chemicals Agency - Helsinki (Finland):

- ECDC - European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control - Stocholm (Sweden):

- EEA - European Environment Agency – Copenhagen (Denmark):

- EFSA - European Food Safety Authority – Parma (Italy):

- EMCDDA - European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction - Lisbon (Portugal):

- EMEA - European Medicines Agency - London (UK):

- EMSA - European Maritime Safety Agency – Lisbon (Portugal):

- ENISA - European Network and Information and Security Agency - Heraklion (Greece):

- ERA - European Railway Agency – Valenciennes/Lille (France):

- ETF - European Training Foundation - Torino (Italy):

- EU-OSHA - European Agency for Safety and Health at Work- Bilbao (Spain):

- EUROFOUND - European Foundation for the Improvement of the Living and Working Conditions – Dublin (Ireland):

- EIGE - European Institute for Gender Equality - Vilnius (Lithuania):

- FRA - European Fundamental Rights Agency – Vienna (Austria):

- FRONTEX - European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders  – Warsaw (Poland):

- GSA - European GNSS Supervisory Authority – Brussels (Belgium): (GNSS stands for Global Navigation Satellite Systems)

- OHIM - Office for Harmonisation in the Internal Market (Trade Marks and Designs) Alicante (Spain):