Unification of Germany in 1990 (Photo: European Commission)

Germany has a population of more than 80 million and has an area of 360,000 km2. It was one of the original EEC member states.

Germany has 16 Länder with representation in the Bundesrat. The smallest state of Saar land has 1 million citizens and 3 representatives in the Bundesrat. The biggest North Rhine-Westphalia with 18 million citizens has 6 seats.

See also German Constitutional Court case



German Government